Ransomville Speedway

  • 1
Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Witness the best short track racing in the northeast each and every Friday night. Click to see a full list of events.

Brandon Sherwood Wins Sue Kulak Memorial; Chris Leone Wins Blake Chaffee Memorial


Ransomville Speedway

Brandon Sherwood Wins Sue Kulak Memorial; Chris Leone Wins Blake Chaffee Memorial

RANSOMVILLE, NY (May 24, 2024) Brandon Sherwood from Sanborn, NY won the Sue Kulak Memorial for the KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks on Friday night at the Ransomville Speedway. Chris Leone from Niagara Falls, NY was victorious in the Blake Chaffee memorial for the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks. Mat Williamson from Ridgeway, Ontario won the main event for the Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds. Jim Harbison from Ransomville, NY scored the feature win in the Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman. Tyler Foster from Pendleton, NY won his first Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature event.

The Sue Kulak Memorial for the KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks was led to the green flag by Butch Zimmerman and John Zimmerman, with Butch in the lead ahead of John and Byron Dewitt III. Dewitt would pass Butch Zimmerman to take over second place, as Brandon Sherwood and Mike Welch raced in the top five. Dewitt, Sherwood, Welch, and Jimmy Grant all closed in on race leader John Zimmerman. Sherwood would go three wide with Dewitt and Zimmerman to take over the lead on lap 12. Butch Zimmerman came to a stop on the top side of turn two on lap 19 to bring out the caution. Mike Welch and Jimmy Grant would move into second and third on the restart, dropping Dewitt to 4th place. Sherwood would go on to score the win, his 20th of his Ransomville career.

Brandon Close and Ian Paul brought the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks to the green flag for the Blake Chaffee Memorial with Paul in the lead ahead of Ben Hornquist, Dave Dussault, and Chris Leone. Hornquist would take the lead away on lap two. Chris Leone would move into second place on lap three and would go after Hornquist. Cole Susice would enter the top five as well on lap three, and on lap six, would move into third place. Hornquist, Leone, and Susice would pull away from the balance of the field. Honrquist’s strong run would end on lap 15 as he came to a stop on the front straightaway. Chris Leone would inherit the lead and he would hold off Susice and Ryan Plante to score the feature win.

Ryan Susice and Mat Williamson led the Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds to the green flag, with Williamson ahead of Susice and Chad Brachmann. Erick Rudolph would quickly get into the top five and would go after Jesse Cotriss for fourth place on lap three. Opening night winner Gary Lindberg would work into the top six and would pass Cotriss for fifth on lap seven. With Williamson out front, Susice would start to get challenged by Brachmann and Rudolph. Williamson would pull away from the field to earn the victory, his 26th of his career at Ransomville. The win for “Money Mat” would put him into eighth on the all-time wins list, passing Flyin’ Brian Stevens. Track announcers Steven Petty and Jay Trainer went broadcast silent on lap nine of the main event in honor and memory of “Barefoot” Bob McCreadie, a five-time winner of the Summer Nationals, who passed away last week. The 358 Modifieds also raced nine-lap qualifying heats in honor of “The Master of Going Faster” from Watertown.

Based off their top two qualifying runs during Test, Tune and Time, Brett Senek and Jordan Moden brought the Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman to the green flag, with Senek in the lead ahead of Dave DiPietro, Moden, Jim Harbison, and Jake Bansmer. Harbison would pass DiPietro and Moden to take over second on lap three, as Cody McPherson entered the top five on lap five after passing Moden in turn three. Jim Harbison would battle with Senek for the lead following a lap five restart, with Senek holding off Harbison’s challenges. Cody McPherson would reel in DiPietro for third, just as Harbison would take over the lead on lap 15. Sheldon Gardner spun in turn four to bring out the caution on lap 16. On the restart, Derek Wagner hit the turn one wall to turn the Whelen safety lights back on. Harbison would take the lead on the restart, as Senek battled with McPherson for second place, with McPherson moving into the runner-up position on lap 18. Harbison would hold off McPherson to score the feature win. It was Harbison’s first at Ransomville since July of 2017.

Tyler Foster would lead early in the main event for the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman. In a race that was caution-filled, Foster led the entire 15-lap feature to pick up his first win at Ransomville, and second of the season. Ken Camidge passed Jocelyn Just for second place on lap eight, but couldn’t reel in Foster, who went on to score the win. It was Foster’s second win in a week, after picking up a win last weekend at Land of Legends Raceway in Canandaigua.

Next Friday night, the Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman will be featured in round one of the Western Region for the Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series. The 358 Modifieds, Street Stocks, Novice Sportsman, and Mini Stocks will round out the racing card. Also on the program will be the 2nd Annual Austin Wilson Memorial Demolition Derby presented by DNA Towing and DNA Demo Promotions. Pit gates will open at 5pm, grandstands open at 6pm, and racing will get underway at 7:15pm.

Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds: MAT WILLIAMSON, Ryan Susice, Chad Brachmann, Erick Rudolph, Gary Lindberg, Phil Vigneri III, James Sweeting, Noah Walker, Jesse Cotriss, Dalton Slack, Kyle Richner, Nelson Mason, Jessica Kriegisch, Greg Martin, Dave Flannigan Jr, Allan Wills, Steve Lewis Jr, Andrew Smith
Did Not Start: Brandon Michaud
Qualifying Heats: Mat Williamson, Erick Rudolph, Ryan Susice

Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman: JIM HARBISON, Cody McPherson, Dave DiPietro II, Brett Senek, Cameron Tuttle, Jake Bansmer, Dave Conant, AJ Custodi, Jordan Moden, Justin McKay, Steve Miller, Mike Kramarz, Dillon Adamczak, Nathan Peattie, Abby Castile, Kevin Wills, Jessie Truax, Sheldon Gardner, Derek Wagner, DJ Rosinski
Did Not Start: Colby Adamczak, Tyler Moore, Noah Mamo
Qualifying Heats: Dave DiPietro II, Dave Conant, Cody McPherson

KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks: BRANDON SHERWOOD, Mike Welch, Jimmy Grant, Byron Dewitt III, John Zimmerman, Bobby Lippa Jr, Mike Kelly, Phil Schepis, Ron Richter, Butch Zimmerman, Joey Zimmerman, Mike Kulak
Did Not Start: Curt Sherwood, Larry Vick
Qualifying Heats: Mike Welch, Byron Dewitt III

Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks: CHRIS LEONE, Ryan Plante, Cole Susice, Jeffrey Wynes, Matt Hornquist, Brad Whiteside, Dave Dussault, Ian Paul, Brian Melcher, Bob Palmer, Christian Soliday, Brandon Close, Ben Hornquist, Mike Becker, Cody Griffin
Did Not Start: Curt Rung
Qualifying Heats: Ben Hornquist, Jeffrey Wynes, Brad Whiteside

Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman: TYLER FOSTER, Ken Camidge, Jocelyn Just, Kyle Teeter, Nigel Pendykowski, Brooklyn Chaffee, Graeme Toth, Cameron Rowlands, Jacalyn Nettleton, Luke Blose, Johnny Zimmerman
Qualifying Heats: Kyle Teeter, Nigel Pendykowski

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Article Media

Back to News
Ticket Info

The Modified Tour Inc
Atwal Eye Care
Hy-Tech Concrete
KIPO Automotive Group
Super DIRTCar Series
VP Race Fuels
Sunflowers of Sanborn
DirtCar Series Sportsman
Empire Super Sprints
Kevins Carpet Cleaning