Ransomville Speedway

  • 1
Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Witness the best short track racing in the northeast each and every Friday night. Click to see a full list of events.

Cody McPherson Wins Sean Letts Memorial; Lindberg, Sherwood, Plante, and Camidge Score Opening Night Wins


Ransomville Speedway

Cody McPherson Wins Sean Letts Memorial; Lindberg, Sherwood, Plante, and Camidge Score Opening Night Wins

RANSOMVILLE, NY (May 10, 2024) Former Mr. DIRT titlist Cody McPherson from St. Catharines, Ontario was victorious in the Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman Sean Letts Memorial at the Ransomville Speedway Friday night. SANY New York presented the racing action, which was also the 66th Season Opener at the Big R. Gary Lindberg from Ridgeway, Ontario won the main event for the Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds. Brandon Sherwood from Sanborn, NY won the KiPo Chevrolet Street Stock feature event. Ryan Plante from Cheektowaga, NY won the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stock feature event. Ken Camidge from Niagara Falls, NY picked up the feature win in the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman.

The Sean Letts Memorial for the Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman was led to the green flag by Curtis Friesen and Dave Conant, with Conant taking the lead with Cody McPherson taking over second place. Conant and McPherson continued to battle for the lead, with Brett Senek, Friesen, Cam Tuttle, and Derek Wagner racing inside the top six. McPherson would take over the lead on lap nine from Conant while encountering lap traffic. McPherson would survive several mid-race restarts to drive away to his 12th career Ransomville victory.

Based off time trials from Test, Tune, and Time, Phil Vigneri III and Gary Lindberg brought the Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds, with Vigneri and Lindberg battling for the lead. Ryan Susice and Chad Brachmann would battle with Vigneri and would move into second, as Lindberg took off in the lead. Brachmann would start to close in on Lindberg for the lead on lap six. Mat Williamson would pass Vigneri to take over fourth place on lap eight. Mat Williamson would take over third from Susice following a lap nine caution and would go after Brachmann and Lindberg. Lindberg would start to pull away as Williamson would close in on Brachmann for second place. Williamson would take over second from Brachmann on lap 21. Erick Rudolph would quietly enter the top five before the halfway mark and would pass Andrew Smith to take over fourth onlap 23. The caution would come out on lap 25 as Greg Martin and Luke Carleton would get together on the back straightaway. Lindberg would hold off Williamson to score the feature win.

Brandon Sherwood and John Zimmerman were on the front row for the KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks with Sherwood showing the way. Mike Welch would race his way into third place, with 12th place starter Jesse Qutermous moving into fourth place on lap two. The battle was on for third place on lap six between Qutermous and Welch, with Welch holding off Qutermous. Qutermous would be able to pass Welch on lap 10 to move into third place. Phil Schepis got loose off turn two and spun to bring out the races’ first caution on lap 17. The restart would see Sherwood in the lead with Jesse Qutermous battling with Zimmerman for second place. Sherwood would go on to score the win, his first of the season and 19th of his career.

Ryan Plante and Curtis Rung brought the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks to the green flag for their 15-lap feature event, with Plante showing the way. Plante would dominate the event, leading all 15-laps to pick up the feature win, his 11th of his career.

Tyler Foster and Ken Camidge were on the front row for the opening race of the year for the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman, with Camidge jumping out into the early race lead. Graeme Toth would take the lead away on lap two, with Cameron Rowlands moving into second place. Rowlands would take over the lead on lap nine, as Toth had mechanical issues and pulled into the infield. While negotiating lap traffic, Ken Camidge would regain the lead on lap 12. Camidge would score the win ahead of Rowlands, Nigel Pendykowski, Kyle Teeter, and Tyler Foster.

Next Friday night will be the Sue Kulak Memorial for the KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks. A full Ransomville Speedway racing program of 358 Modifieds, DIRTcar Sportsman, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Novice Sportsman will be taking place. Kids are invited to bring their Power Wheels as we will be having Kids Power Wheel Races during intermission. Pit gates will open at 5pm, grandstands open at 6pm, and racing will get underway at 7:15pm.

Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds: GARY LINDBERG, Mat Williamson, Erick Rudolph, Chad Brachmann, Ryan Susice, Andrew Smith, Dalton Slack, Phil Vigneri III, Jesse Cotriss, Noah Walker, Steve Lewis Jr, Nelson Mason, Brad Rouse, Brandon Michaud, Kyle Richner, Jessica Kriegisch, Allan Wills, Greg Martin, Luke Carleton, Dave Flannigan Jr, Nick Joy, James Sweeting
Qualifying Heats: Ryan Susice, Erick Rudolph, Mat Williamson

Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman: CODY MCPHERSON, Dave Conant, Brett Senek, Cameron Tuttle, Curtis Friesen, Jim Harbison, Derek Wagner, Justin McKay, Jacob Bansmer, Greenley George, Kevin Wills, Dave DiPietro II, Jordan Moden, Colby Adamczak, Mike Kramarz, AJ Custodi, Sheldon Gardner, Billy Bleich Jr, Dillon Adamczak, Nathan Peattie, Abby Castile, Tyler Moore
Qualifying Heats: Dave DiPietro II, Jake Bansmer, Kevin Wills

KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks: BRANDON SHERWOOD, John Zimmerman, Jesse Qutermous, Mike Welch, Bobby Lippa Jr, Ron Richter, Phil Schepis, Tommy Bowen, Joey Zimmerman, Butch Zimmerman, Nate Tabor
Did Not Start: Jacob Vick, Larry Vick
Qualifying Heats: Butch Zimmerman, Phil Schepis

Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks: RYAN PLANTE, Ben Hornquist, Curt Rung, Jeffrey Wynes, Brad Whiteside, Cole Susice, Brian Melcher, Mike Becker, Dave Smith, Matt Hornquist, Ian Paul, John Carlson, Bob Palmer, Cody Griffin, Kenny Zimmerman
Did Not Start: Christian Soliday, CJ Smith, Nevin Hazel
Qualifying Heats: Jeffrey Wynes, Brad Whiteside, Dave Smith

Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman: KEN CAMIDGE, Cameron Rowlands, Nigel Pendykowski, Kyle Teeter, Tyler Foster, Jocelyn Just, Brooklyn Chaffee, Jacalyn Nettleton, Graeme Toth
Did Not Start: Zack Bleich, Johnny Zimmerman, Luke Blose
Qualifying Heats: Jocelyn Just, Ken Camidge

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News
Ticket Info

The Modified Tour Inc
Atwal Eye Care
Hy-Tech Concrete
KIPO Automotive Group
Super DIRTCar Series
VP Race Fuels
Sunflowers of Sanborn
DirtCar Series Sportsman
Empire Super Sprints
Kevins Carpet Cleaning